Support 100 years of independent journalism.

  1. Culture
16 May 2012updated 27 Sep 2015 4:00am

Orange Prize competition

Enjoy a summer of reading with the best of this year’s women’s fiction.

By New Statesman

We’ve teamed up with Orange to offer you the chance to win six must-read books from the 2012 Orange Prize for Fiction shortlist.

The lucky winner will receive a complete set of the six shortlisted books plus a bottle of Taittinger Brut Réserve NV. The 2012 shortlist is:

 Esi Edugyan’s Half Blood Blues


Anne Enright’s The Forgotten Waltz

Sign up for The New Statesman’s newsletters Tick the boxes of the newsletters you would like to receive. Quick and essential guide to domestic and global politics from the New Statesman's politics team. The New Statesman’s global affairs newsletter, every Monday and Friday. The best of the New Statesman, delivered to your inbox every weekday morning. The New Statesman’s weekly environment email on the politics, business and culture of the climate and nature crises - in your inbox every Thursday. A handy, three-minute glance at the week ahead in companies, markets, regulation and investment, landing in your inbox every Monday morning. Our weekly culture newsletter – from books and art to pop culture and memes – sent every Friday. A weekly round-up of some of the best articles featured in the most recent issue of the New Statesman, sent each Saturday. A newsletter showcasing the finest writing from the ideas section and the NS archive, covering political ideas, philosophy, criticism and intellectual history - sent every Wednesday. Sign up to receive information regarding NS events, subscription offers & product updates.


Content from our partners
The shrinking road to net zero
The tree-planting misconception
Is your business ready for corporate climate reporting?

Georgina Harding’s Painter of Silence


Madeline Miller’s The Song of Achilles


Cynthia Ozick’s Foreign Bodies


Ann Patchett’s State of Wonder

The Orange Prize for Fiction is the UK’s only annual book award for women’s writing and celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility. Previous winners include Téa Obreht, Zadie Smith, Lionel Shriver, Rose Tremain and Andrea Levy. The winner of this year’s prize will be announced on the 30 May 2012

Visit for all the latest news and offers.

For your chance to win, simply email:

We will pick a winner on 28 May.