Support 110 years of independent journalism.

2 September 2014

Samuel Johnson Prize 2014: longlist announced

The longlist for the UK's foremost award for non-fiction writing, the Samuel Johnson Prize, has been announced.

By Critic

The longlist for the UK’s foremost award for non-fiction writing, the Samuel Johnson Prize, has been announced. Presented by chair Claire Tomalin – with the obligatory repetition of that dull and nonsensical maxim “fact is stranger and wilder than fiction” – the list is heavy in memoir, but also contains the usual quotient of straight-down-the-line history books, as well as nature writing and contemporary reportage.

The list in full (see links for reviews):

•           Marion Coutts, The Iceberg: A Memoir, Atlantic   

•           Nick Davies, Hack Attack, Random House

•           Atul Gawande, Being Mortal, Profile Books

Select and enter your email address Your weekly guide to the best writing on ideas, politics, books and culture every Saturday. The best way to sign up for The Saturday Read is via The New Statesman's quick and essential guide to the news and politics of the day. The best way to sign up for Morning Call is via
  • Administration / Office
  • Arts and Culture
  • Board Member
  • Business / Corporate Services
  • Client / Customer Services
  • Communications
  • Construction, Works, Engineering
  • Education, Curriculum and Teaching
  • Environment, Conservation and NRM
  • Facility / Grounds Management and Maintenance
  • Finance Management
  • Health - Medical and Nursing Management
  • HR, Training and Organisational Development
  • Information and Communications Technology
  • Information Services, Statistics, Records, Archives
  • Infrastructure Management - Transport, Utilities
  • Legal Officers and Practitioners
  • Librarians and Library Management
  • Management
  • Marketing
  • OH&S, Risk Management
  • Operations Management
  • Planning, Policy, Strategy
  • Printing, Design, Publishing, Web
  • Projects, Programs and Advisors
  • Property, Assets and Fleet Management
  • Public Relations and Media
  • Purchasing and Procurement
  • Quality Management
  • Science and Technical Research and Development
  • Security and Law Enforcement
  • Service Delivery
  • Sport and Recreation
  • Travel, Accommodation, Tourism
  • Wellbeing, Community / Social Services
Visit our privacy Policy for more information about our services, how Progressive Media Investments may use, process and share your personal data, including information on your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications.

•           Greg Grandin, The Empire of Necessity, Oneworld

•           Alison Light, Common People, Fig Tree

•           Helen Macdonald, H is for Hawk, Jonathan Cape

•           Henry Marsh, Do No Harm, Weidenfeld & Nicolson

•           Jonathan Meades, An Encyclopaedia of Myself, 4th Estate

•           Caroline Moorehead, Village of Secrets: Defying the Nazis in Vichy France, Chatto & Windus

•           Adam Nicolson, The Mighty Dead: Why Homer Matters, William Collins

•           Jenny Uglow, In These Times, Faber & Faber

•           Ben Watt, Romany and Tom: A Memoir, Bloomsbury

The shortlist will be announced on 9 October, followed by the winner of Tuesday 4 November.

Content from our partners
What you need to know about private markets
Work isn't working: how to boost the nation's health and happiness
The dementia crisis: a call for action