Support 100 years of independent journalism.

27 November 2013

The Returning Officer: Clubs II

By Stephen Brasher

The list of MPs’ clubs in the 1915 Liberal yearbook contains some obscurities. Henry Norman, MP for Blackburn (1910-23), was the sole listed member of the Sesame Club. It was founded in 1895 to promote educational reform and was influenced by the work of Friedrich Fröbel. When it became more of a social club, some members split away to form the Sesame League.

The Byculla Club had been established just outside Bombay in 1832, inspired by the United Service Club in London and following similar foundations in Bengal and Madras.

John Jardine had been a High Court judge in the city and, after retiring, served as MP for Roxburghshire (1906-18) but retained his membership of the Byculla. His publications included Notes on Buddhist Law and Sangermano’s Burmese Empire.

Sign up for The New Statesman’s newsletters Tick the boxes of the newsletters you would like to receive. Quick and essential guide to domestic and global politics from the New Statesman's politics team. The New Statesman’s global affairs newsletter, every Monday and Friday. The best of the New Statesman, delivered to your inbox every weekday morning. A handy, three-minute glance at the week ahead in companies, markets, regulation and investment, landing in your inbox every Monday morning. Our weekly culture newsletter – from books and art to pop culture and memes – sent every Friday. A weekly round-up of some of the best articles featured in the most recent issue of the New Statesman, sent each Saturday. A weekly dig into the New Statesman’s archive of over 100 years of stellar and influential journalism, sent each Wednesday. Sign up to receive information regarding NS events, subscription offers & product updates.
I consent to New Statesman Media Group collecting my details provided via this form in accordance with the Privacy Policy