New Times,
New Thinking.

  1. Election 2024
18 September 2015updated 26 Jul 2021 9:48am

Jeremy Corbyn’s shadow cabinet: the full list of ministers

The new Labour leader has appointed his full shadow frontbench team.

By Anoosh Chakelian

Jeremy Corbyn has completed his shadow frontbench appointments. It is a majority women shadow cabinet (52 per cent), up on the 47 per cent women shadow cabinet Harriet Harman was leading prior to Corbyn’s win. However, Corbyn was criticised following his first few announcements for appointing men to shadow all the Great Offices of State (leader, shadow chancellor, shadow home secretary and shadow foreign secretary).

Read Stephen Bush on who the winners and losers are in Corbyn’s first shadow cabinet.

Here’s George Eaton on whether the new make-up of Labour’s frontbench will help repair early damage.

Helen Lewis suggests Corbyn’s appointment of solely men to his top team was an “unforced error”.

George Eaton has the inside track on who’s who in Corbyn’s inner circle.

Select and enter your email address Your weekly guide to the best writing on ideas, politics, books and culture every Saturday. The best way to sign up for The Saturday Read is via The New Statesman's quick and essential guide to the news and politics of the day. The best way to sign up for Morning Call is via
  • Administration / Office
  • Arts and Culture
  • Board Member
  • Business / Corporate Services
  • Client / Customer Services
  • Communications
  • Construction, Works, Engineering
  • Education, Curriculum and Teaching
  • Environment, Conservation and NRM
  • Facility / Grounds Management and Maintenance
  • Finance Management
  • Health - Medical and Nursing Management
  • HR, Training and Organisational Development
  • Information and Communications Technology
  • Information Services, Statistics, Records, Archives
  • Infrastructure Management - Transport, Utilities
  • Legal Officers and Practitioners
  • Librarians and Library Management
  • Management
  • Marketing
  • OH&S, Risk Management
  • Operations Management
  • Planning, Policy, Strategy
  • Printing, Design, Publishing, Web
  • Projects, Programs and Advisors
  • Property, Assets and Fleet Management
  • Public Relations and Media
  • Purchasing and Procurement
  • Quality Management
  • Science and Technical Research and Development
  • Security and Law Enforcement
  • Service Delivery
  • Sport and Recreation
  • Travel, Accommodation, Tourism
  • Wellbeing, Community / Social Services
Visit our privacy Policy for more information about our services, how Progressive Media Investments may use, process and share your personal data, including information on your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications.

And here’s the full list:

Leader of the Opposition
Jeremy Corbyn MP

Business, Innovation & Skills
Angela Eagle MP
Kevin Brennan MP
Stephen Doughty MP
Yvonne Fovargue MP
Chi Onwurah MP [Joint with DCMS] Bill Esterson MP
Gordon Marsden MP [Joint with Education] Lord (Wilf) Stevenson
Lord (Jon) Mendelsohn 
Baroness (Dianne) Hayter

Cabinet Office 
Tom Watson MP
Gloria De Piero MP
Jon Ashworth MP
Ian Lavery MP
Wayne David MP [Joint with Scotland, Justice] Anna Turley MP
Lousie Haigh MP 
Baroness (Dianne) Hayter

Communities and Local Government
Jon Trickett MP
Steve Reed MP
Liz McInnes MP
Lord (Roy) Kennedy 
Lord (Jeremy) Beecham

John Healey MP (Housing) 
Roberta Blackman-Woods MP
Teresa Pearce MP 
Lord (Roy) Kennedy 
Lord (Jeremy) Beecham

Culture, Media & Sport
Michael Dugher MP
Chi Onwurah MP [Joint with BIS] Clive Efford MP                        
Lord (Wilf) Stevenson

Maria Eagle MP
Kevan Jones MP
Toby Perkins MP
Rachel Maskell MP 
Rt Hon Lord (Don) Touhig 

Lucy Powell MP
Nic Dakin MP
Sharon Hodgson MP 
Gordon Marsden MP [Joint with BIS] Lord (Mike) Watson 

Energy and Climate Change
Lisa Nandy MP
Barry Gardiner MP
Alan Whitehead MP 
Clive Lewis MP
Baroness (Bryony) Worthington
Lord (John) Grantchester

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Kerry McCarthy MP
Alex Cunningham MP 
Nick Smith MP
Baroness (Maggie) Jones 
Lord (John) Grantchester

Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP
Rt Hon Pat McFadden MP
Rt Hon David Hanson MP 
Diana Johnson MP
Catherine West MP
Lord (Ray) Collins 
Baroness (Eluned) Morgan

Heidi Alexander MP
Luciana Berger MP
Andrew Gwynne MP
Barbara Keeley MP
Justin Madders MP
Rt Hon Lord (Philip) Hunt

Home Office
Rt Hon Andy Burnham MP 
Jack Dromey MP
Lyn Brown MP 
Keir Starmer MP
Sarah Champion MP 
Lord (Richard) Rosser
Lord (Roy) Kennedy 

International Development
Diane Abbott MP 
Mike Kane MP
Lord (Ray) Collins

Rt Hon Lord (Charlie) Falconer QC
Andy Slaughter MP
Jenny Chapman MP
Wayne David MP [Joint with Scotland, Cab Office] Lord (Willy) Bach
Lord (Jeremy) Beecham

Law Officers
Catherine McKinnell MP 
Karl Turner MP 
Lord (Neil) Davidson QC [Adv. Gen. Scotland]

Leader of the House of Commons
Chris Bryant MP 
Melanie Onn MP

Leader of the House of Lords 
Rt Hon Baroness (Angela) Smith
Rt Hon Lord (Philip) Hunt [Deputy Leader]

Northern Ireland
Vernon Coaker MP 
Stephen Pound MP
Rt Hon Lord (Tommy) McAvoy

Ian Murray MP
Wayne David MP [Joint with Justice and Cabinet Office] Rt Hon Lord (Tommy) McAvoy

Lilian Greenwood MP
Jonathan Reynolds MP
Richard Burden MP
Daniel Zeichner MP
Lord (Richard) Rosser

John McDonnell MP 
Seema Malhotra MP
Rob Marris MP
Rebecca Long Bailey MP
Richard Burgon MP
Rt Hon Lord (Bryan) Davies
Lord (Denis) Tunnicliffe 
Lord (Neil) Davidson

Nia Griffith MP
Susan Elan Jones MP 
Baroness (Eluned) Morgan

Women & Equalities Office
Kate Green MP
Cat Smith MP 
Baroness (Dianne) Hayter 

Work & Pensions
Owen Smith MP
Emily Thornberry MP
Debbie Abrahams MP
Nick Thomas Symonds MP
Baroness (Maeve) Sherlock
Lord (Bill) McKenzie 

Whips Office

House of Commons

Chief Whip 
Opposition Chief Whip

Rt Hon Rosie Winterton MP

Alan Campbell MP (Deputy Chief Whip) 
Mark Tami MP (Pairing Whip)
Jessica Morden MP
Judith Cummins MP
Vicky Foxcroft MP 
Sue Hayman MP
Holly Lynch MP 
Conor McGinn MP 
Grahame Morris MP
Angela Rayner MP 
Jeff Smith MP

House of Lords 

Chief Whip
Rt Hon Lord (Steve) Bassam

Deputy Chief Whips
Lord (Denis) Tunnicliffe
Rt Hon Lord (Tommy) McAvoy

Senior Whips
Baroness (Margaret) Wheeler
Baroness (Maeve) Sherlock

Lord (Ray) Collins
Baroness (Eluned) Morgan
Lord (Wilf) Stevenson
Rt Hon Lord (Don) Touhig
Lord (Roy) Kennedy 

Content from our partners
We need an urgent review of UK pensions
The future of private credit
Peatlands are nature's unsung climate warriors