New select committee chairs for the 2010-5 Parliament announced

Sign Up

Get the New Statesman's Morning Call email.

The 26 new Select Committee chairs have been announced. Maverick Labour MP Frank Field is chair of Work and Pensions, Sarah Wollaston is chair of Health, while Stephen Twigg has been elected head of the International Development select committee, which will trigger a mini-reshuffle of Labour's shadow justice team. Meg Hillier replaces Margaret Hodge as chair of the Public Accounts Committee.

Backbench Business Ian Mearns
Business, Innovation & Skills Iain Wright

Communities & Local Government Clive Betts
Culture, Media & Sport Jesse Norman
Defence Julian Lewis
Education Neil Carmichael
Environmental Audit Huw Irranca-Davies

Energy & Climate Change Angus Brendan MacNeil
Environment, Food & Rural Affairs Neil Parish
Foreign Affairs Crispin Blunt
Health Sarah Wollaston
Home Affairs Keith Vaz
International Development Stephen Twigg
Justice  Robert Neill

Northern Ireland Affairs Mr Laurence Robertson
Petitions Helen Jones

Procedure Mr Charles Walker
Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Mr Bernard Jenkin
Public Accounts Meg Hillier
Science & Technology Nicola Blackwood

Scottish Affairs Pete Wishart

Standards Kevin Barron

Transport Mrs Louise Ellman
Treasury Mr Andrew Tyrie
Welsh Affairs David T.C Davies
Women and Equalities Mrs Maria Miller
Work & Pensions Frank Field




Free trial CSS