Support 100 years of independent journalism.

  1. Politics
4 September 2012

The new cabinet: the full list

A full list of David Cameron's new ministerial line-up.

By New Statesman

Prime Minister, First Lord of the Treasury and Minister for the Civil Service – David Cameron

Deputy Prime Minister, Lord President of the Council – Nick Clegg

Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs – William Hague

Chancellor of the Exchequer – George Osborne

Chief Secretary to the Treasury – Danny Alexander

Select and enter your email address Quick and essential guide to domestic and global politics from the New Statesman's politics team. The New Statesman’s global affairs newsletter, every Monday and Friday. Your new guide to the best writing on ideas, politics, books and culture each weekend - from the New Statesman. A weekly newsletter helping you fit together the pieces of the global economic slowdown. A newsletter showcasing the finest writing from the ideas section, covering political ideas, philosophy, criticism and intellectual history - sent every Wednesday. The New Statesman’s weekly environment email on the politics, business and culture of the climate and nature crises - in your inbox every Thursday. Sign up to receive information regarding NS events, subscription offers & product updates.
  • Administration / Office
  • Arts and Culture
  • Board Member
  • Business / Corporate Services
  • Client / Customer Services
  • Communications
  • Construction, Works, Engineering
  • Education, Curriculum and Teaching
  • Environment, Conservation and NRM
  • Facility / Grounds Management and Maintenance
  • Finance Management
  • Health - Medical and Nursing Management
  • HR, Training and Organisational Development
  • Information and Communications Technology
  • Information Services, Statistics, Records, Archives
  • Infrastructure Management - Transport, Utilities
  • Legal Officers and Practitioners
  • Librarians and Library Management
  • Management
  • Marketing
  • OH&S, Risk Management
  • Operations Management
  • Planning, Policy, Strategy
  • Printing, Design, Publishing, Web
  • Projects, Programs and Advisors
  • Property, Assets and Fleet Management
  • Public Relations and Media
  • Purchasing and Procurement
  • Quality Management
  • Science and Technical Research and Development
  • Security and Law Enforcement
  • Service Delivery
  • Sport and Recreation
  • Travel, Accommodation, Tourism
  • Wellbeing, Community / Social Services
Visit our privacy Policy for more information about our services, how New Statesman Media Group may use, process and share your personal data, including information on your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications.

Lord Chancellor, Secretary of State for Justice – Chris Grayling

Secretary of State for the Home Department – Theresa May

Secretary of State for Defence – Philip Hammond

Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills – Vince Cable

Secretary of State for Work and Pensions – Iain Duncan Smith

Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change – Edward Davey

Secretary of State for Health – Jeremy Hunt

Secretary of State for Education – Michael Gove

Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government – Eric Pickles

Secretary of State for Transport – Patrick McLoughlin

Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs – Owen Paterson

Secretary of State for International Development – Justine Greening

Secretary of State for Culture, Olympics, Media and Sport; and Minister for Women and Equalities – Maria Miller

Secretary of State for Northern Ireland – Theresa Villiers

Secretary of State for Scotland – Michael Moore

Secretary of State for Wales – David Jones

Minister without Portfolio – Ken Clarke

Minister without Portfolio – Grant Shapps

Leader of the House of Lords, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster – Lord Strathclyde

Leader of the House of Commons, Lord Privy Seal – Andrew Lansley

Minister for the Cabinet Office, Paymaster General – Francis Maude

Attorney General – Dominic Grieve

Chief Whip (Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury) – Andrew Mitchell