Support 100 years of independent journalism.

  1. Politics
9 September 2010

Shadow cabinet will be elected

MPs reject plans for leader to appoint shadow cabinet, but introduce a quota for the number of femal

By New Statesman

The Parliamentary Labour Party (PLP) voted last night to reject proposals that the new leader should appoint the shadow cabinet.

Instead, the PLP will revert to its usual practice when in opposition and hold elections for the 19 front bench positions. The new leader will still be able to determine which shadow minister gets which portfolio.

Proposals to institute a 50 per cent quota for women, previously highlighted by Harriet Harman, were toned down to a minimum “gender profile” of 31.5 per cent, reflecting the current gender balance in the PLP.

This will mean that six positions in the shadow cabinet have to be filled by women, even if female candidates receive fewer votes than their male competitors.

Sign up for The New Statesman’s newsletters Tick the boxes of the newsletters you would like to receive. A weekly newsletter helping you fit together the pieces of the global economic slowdown. Quick and essential guide to domestic and global politics from the New Statesman's politics team. The New Statesman’s global affairs newsletter, every Monday and Friday. The best of the New Statesman, delivered to your inbox every weekday morning. The New Statesman’s weekly environment email on the politics, business and culture of the climate and nature crises - in your inbox every Thursday. Our weekly culture newsletter – from books and art to pop culture and memes – sent every Friday. A weekly round-up of some of the best articles featured in the most recent issue of the New Statesman, sent each Saturday. A newsletter showcasing the finest writing from the ideas section and the NS archive, covering political ideas, philosophy, criticism and intellectual history - sent every Wednesday. Sign up to receive information regarding NS events, subscription offers & product updates.

The rules governing the position of chief whip were also changed, meaning that incumbent Nick Brown can now be elected to serve a full Parliamentary term.

Content from our partners
Small businesses can be the backbone of our national recovery
Railways must adapt to how we live now
“I learn something new on every trip"