Support 100 years of independent journalism.

  1. Culture
2 November 2017

The Back Half: Goldsmiths Prize Shortlist Special

The six shortlisted authors talk to Tom Gatti.

By New Statesman

Tom Gatti meets the six shortlisted authors for the Goldsmiths Prize, which is awarded annually to a work of fiction that breaks the mould. Will Self, Sara Baume, Kevin Davey, Nicola Barker, Jon McGregor and Gwendoline Riley each read from their novels, as well as talking about what inspired them to be experimental in their writing. The winner of the 2017 prize will be announced on 15 November.

Listen on iTunes here, on Acast here or via the player below:

The RSS feed is

Get in touch on Twitter via @ns_podcasts or @tom_gatti.

The shortlisted novels:

Phone by Will Self

A Line Made By Walking by Sara Baume

Playing Possum by Kevin Davey

H(A)PPY by Nicola Barker

Reservoir 13 by Jon McGregor

First Love by Gwendoline Riley

For more details visit the Goldsmiths Prize website here.

Thanks very much to Ashley Simpson and Liron Zisser of Goldsmiths University.

Our theme music is “God Speed” by Pistol Jazz, licensed under Creative Commons.