Support 100 years of independent journalism.

  1. Culture
9 October 2009updated 27 Sep 2015 4:07am

The Wellcome Trust Book Prize

Celebrating medicine in literature

By Jonathan Derbyshire

The Wellcome Trust has just announced the first ever shortlist for its new literary prize, celebrating “medicine in literature”. Jo Brand will chair the panel of judges, which includes the doctor-turned-polymath Raymond Tallis and the BBC science journalist Quentin Cooper. The shortlist is as follows:

Havi Carel, Illness

Brian Dillon, Tormented Hope (read John O’Connell’s review in this week’s magazine)

Andrea Gillies, Keeper

Sign up for The New Statesman’s newsletters Tick the boxes of the newsletters you would like to receive. Quick and essential guide to domestic and global politics from the New Statesman's politics team. The New Statesman’s global affairs newsletter, every Monday and Friday. The best of the New Statesman, delivered to your inbox every weekday morning. The New Statesman’s weekly environment email on the politics, business and culture of the climate and nature crises - in your inbox every Thursday. A handy, three-minute glance at the week ahead in companies, markets, regulation and investment, landing in your inbox every Monday morning. Our weekly culture newsletter – from books and art to pop culture and memes – sent every Friday. A weekly round-up of some of the best articles featured in the most recent issue of the New Statesman, sent each Saturday. A newsletter showcasing the finest writing from the ideas section and the NS archive, covering political ideas, philosophy, criticism and intellectual history - sent every Wednesday. Sign up to receive information regarding NS events, subscription offers & product updates.

Allegra Goodman, Intuition

Content from our partners
The shrinking road to net zero
The tree-planting misconception
Is your business ready for corporate climate reporting?

Jonny Steinberg, Three Letter Plague

Abraham Verghese, Cutting For Stone

The winner of the £25,000 prize will be announced on 4 November.