New Times,
New Thinking.

Xiaolu Guo and Sara Baume to judge the Goldsmiths Prize 2024

Lola Seaton and Abigail Shinn complete the panel for this year’s award for “fiction at its most novel”.

By Ellen Peirson-Hagger

The film-maker and author Xiaolu Guo and the novelist Sara Baume have been announced as judges for this year’s Goldsmiths Prize. The annual £10,000 award, which runs in collaboration with the New Statesman, celebrates writing that “breaks the mould, opens up new possibilities for the novel form, and embodies the spirit of invention”.

Guo, whose novel A Lover’s Discourse was nominated for the Goldsmiths Prize in 2020, is an award-winning film-maker, memoirist and novelist, who was born in China and now lives in London. Her most recent book, Radical, was published by Chatto & Windus in 2023.

Baume, an Irish writer, is the author of three novels, two of which, A Line Made by Walking and Seven Steeples, were previously shortlisted for the Goldsmiths Prize. Her most recent work is a book of creative non-fiction, Handiwork (Tramp Press, 2020), and in 2023 she was named one of Granta’s Best Young British Novelists.

The critic Lola Seaton joins them on the judging panel. Seaton is an associate editor at New Left Review and a contributing writer at the New Statesman. The panel will be chaired by Abigail Shinn, a lecturer in early modern literature and culture at Goldsmiths, University of London, and the author of Conversion Narratives in Early Modern England: Tales of Turning.

The winner of last year’s Goldsmiths Prize was Cuddy by Benjamin Myers, which the judges described as “a book of remarkable range, virtuosity and creative daring”. Other previous winners include Ali Smith, Isabel Waidner, Lucy Ellmann and Kevin Barry.

Select and enter your email address Your weekly guide to the best writing on ideas, politics, books and culture every Saturday. The best way to sign up for The Saturday Read is via The New Statesman's quick and essential guide to the news and politics of the day. The best way to sign up for Morning Call is via
  • Administration / Office
  • Arts and Culture
  • Board Member
  • Business / Corporate Services
  • Client / Customer Services
  • Communications
  • Construction, Works, Engineering
  • Education, Curriculum and Teaching
  • Environment, Conservation and NRM
  • Facility / Grounds Management and Maintenance
  • Finance Management
  • Health - Medical and Nursing Management
  • HR, Training and Organisational Development
  • Information and Communications Technology
  • Information Services, Statistics, Records, Archives
  • Infrastructure Management - Transport, Utilities
  • Legal Officers and Practitioners
  • Librarians and Library Management
  • Management
  • Marketing
  • OH&S, Risk Management
  • Operations Management
  • Planning, Policy, Strategy
  • Printing, Design, Publishing, Web
  • Projects, Programs and Advisors
  • Property, Assets and Fleet Management
  • Public Relations and Media
  • Purchasing and Procurement
  • Quality Management
  • Science and Technical Research and Development
  • Security and Law Enforcement
  • Service Delivery
  • Sport and Recreation
  • Travel, Accommodation, Tourism
  • Wellbeing, Community / Social Services
Visit our privacy Policy for more information about our services, how Progressive Media Investments may use, process and share your personal data, including information on your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications.

This year’s prize opens for submissions on 19 January 2024 and the winner will be announced in November.

Content from our partners
We need an urgent review of UK pensions
The future of private credit
Peatlands are nature's unsung climate warriors