Support 100 years of independent journalism.

  1. Science & Tech
  2. Coronavirus
20 April 2020updated 06 Oct 2020 9:45am

Denmark bans companies registered in tax havens from receiving coronavirus aid

By Samuel Horti

Denmark will block any companies registered in tax havens from receiving state financial support during the coronavirus crisis, its government has said.

Firms registered in countries such as Panama, the Seychelles and the Cayman Islands will not be able to apply for the government’s newly extended 100 billion Danish krone (£11.72 bn) aid scheme for businesses hardest hit by the virus. The list of 12 countries comes from the European Union’s list of “non-cooperative tax jurisdictions”.

Any businesses applying for an extension of the state funding must also promise not to pay dividends or make share buy-backs in 2020 and 2021.

Earlier this month, Poland moved to restrict payments to large firms based on whether they paid taxes in the country. 

Sign up for The New Statesman’s newsletters Tick the boxes of the newsletters you would like to receive. Quick and essential guide to domestic and global politics from the New Statesman's politics team. The New Statesman’s global affairs newsletter, every Monday and Friday. The best of the New Statesman, delivered to your inbox every weekday morning. A handy, three-minute glance at the week ahead in companies, markets, regulation and investment, landing in your inbox every Monday morning. Our weekly culture newsletter – from books and art to pop culture and memes – sent every Friday. A weekly round-up of some of the best articles featured in the most recent issue of the New Statesman, sent each Saturday. A weekly dig into the New Statesman’s archive of over 100 years of stellar and influential journalism, sent each Wednesday. Sign up to receive information regarding NS events, subscription offers & product updates.
I consent to New Statesman Media Group collecting my details provided via this form in accordance with the Privacy Policy