New Times,
New Thinking.

  1. Politics
29 November 2018

The MPs who back a new EU referendum

A rolling list by party of those who have publicly pledged support for a fresh vote.

By Patrick Maguire

MPs are likely to amend the meaningful vote on Theresa May’s Withdrawal Agreement to call for a new referendum on Europe. But just how many have pledged their support?

The rolling list below includes all 101 MPs who have publicly backed a fresh vote on the deal. If you are an MP and feel you should or should not be listed, get in touch here.

Since publication, several of you have asked why the SNP are not included below – more often than not citing an interview Nicola Sturgeon gave to the BBC’s Andrew Marr last month, in which she said that her MPs would “undoubtedly” back a so-called people’s vote if it came before the Commons after the rejection of May’s deal. 

“No doubt calls for a second referendum would grow in those circumstances, and I’ve said before we wouldn’t stand in the way of a second referendum,” she said. “I think SNP MPs would undoubtedly vote for that proposition.”

The reason why we have not chalked that up as an additional 35 votes for the cause is that Sturgeon’s position, like Labour’s official line, is qualified and conditional. She says there is no reason that her MPs would not vote for a new referendum in the event it came before the Commons, which isn’t the same as the active pledge of support the MPs below have given.

Select and enter your email address Your weekly guide to the best writing on ideas, politics, books and culture every Saturday. The best way to sign up for The Saturday Read is via The New Statesman's quick and essential guide to the news and politics of the day. The best way to sign up for Morning Call is via
  • Administration / Office
  • Arts and Culture
  • Board Member
  • Business / Corporate Services
  • Client / Customer Services
  • Communications
  • Construction, Works, Engineering
  • Education, Curriculum and Teaching
  • Environment, Conservation and NRM
  • Facility / Grounds Management and Maintenance
  • Finance Management
  • Health - Medical and Nursing Management
  • HR, Training and Organisational Development
  • Information and Communications Technology
  • Information Services, Statistics, Records, Archives
  • Infrastructure Management - Transport, Utilities
  • Legal Officers and Practitioners
  • Librarians and Library Management
  • Management
  • Marketing
  • OH&S, Risk Management
  • Operations Management
  • Planning, Policy, Strategy
  • Printing, Design, Publishing, Web
  • Projects, Programs and Advisors
  • Property, Assets and Fleet Management
  • Public Relations and Media
  • Purchasing and Procurement
  • Quality Management
  • Science and Technical Research and Development
  • Security and Law Enforcement
  • Service Delivery
  • Sport and Recreation
  • Travel, Accommodation, Tourism
  • Wellbeing, Community / Social Services
Visit our privacy Policy for more information about our services, how Progressive Media Investments may use, process and share your personal data, including information on your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications.

Add to that the reservations that a number of SNP MPs have expressed about a new referendum on the EU and its impact on the political prognosis for Scottish independence and it’s clear that the support of that bloc is far from a foregone conclusion. 

Conservative (10)

Heidi Allen
Guto Bebb
Damian Collins
Sam Gymiah
Justine Greening
Dominic Grieve
Jo Johnson
Philip Lee
Anna Soubry
Sarah Wollaston

Labour (73)

Debbie Abrahams
Rushanara Ali
Tonia Antoniazzi
Luciana Berger
Roberta Blackman-Woods
Ben Bradshaw
Chris Bryant 
Richard Burden
Ruth Cadbury
Neil Coyle
Mary Creagh
Stella Creasy
Janet Daby
Geraint Davies
Stephen Doughty
Rosie Duffield
Angela Eagle
Maria Eagle
Julie Elliott
Louise Ellman
Paul Farrelly
Paul Flynn
Mike Gapes
Roger Godsiff
Kate Green
Lillian Greenwood
John Grogan
Helen Hayes
Margaret Hodge
Rupa Huq
Darren Jones
Graham Jones
Susan Elan Jones
Liz Kendall
Peter Kyle
David Lammy
Chris Leslie
Seema Malhotra
Siobhain McDonagh
Conor McGinn
Alison McGovern
Catherine McKinnell
Anna McMorrin
Madeleine Moon
Stephen Morgan
Ian Murray
Jess Phillips
Bridget Phillipson
Steve Reed
Ellie Reeves
Rachel Reeves
Lloyd Russell-Moyle
Joan Ryan
Virendra Sharma
Barry Sheerman
Gavin Shuker
Tulip Siddiq
Andy Slaughter
Angela Smith
Owen Smith
Alex Sobel
Jo Stevens
Wes Streeting
Gareth Thomas
Anna Turley
Chuka Umunna
Catherine West
Matt Western
Martin Whitfield
Paul Williams
Phil Wilson
Daniel Zeichner

Liberal Democrat (11)

Tom Brake
Vince Cable
Alistair Carmichael
Ed Davey
Tim Farron
Wera Hobhouse
Christine Jardine
Norman Lamb
Layla Moran
Jamie Stone
Jo Swinson

Green (1)

Caroline Lucas

Plaid Cymru (4)

Jonathan Edwards
Ben Lake
Liz Saville-Roberts
Hywel Williams

Independent (1)

Jared O’Mara

Content from our partners
An innovative approach to regional equity
ADHD in the criminal justice system: a case for change – with Takeda
The power of place in tackling climate change