View all newsletters
Sign up to our newsletters

Support 110 years of independent journalism.

  1. Politics
22 October 2018updated 07 Jun 2021 2:57pm

What is the government’s working majority in parliament?

By New Statesman

After the defection of Conservative MP Phillip Lee to the Liberal Democrats, Boris Johnson’s government no longer has a working majority in parliament. 

At present, the Conservatives hold 309 seats (excluding deputy speaker Eleanor Laing, who by convention does not vote). The Democratic Unionist Party, with whom the Tories maintain a confidence and supply agreement, hold ten seats, making a total of 319. Under the terms of the pact agreed in 2017, the DUP backs the government in motions of confidence and spending (supply) or budget votes. 

On the opposition benches, Labour hold 245 seats (excluding two deputy speakers), the Liberal Democrats hold 14, the SNP hold 35, the Independent Group for Change hold five, Plaid Cymru hold four, the Green Party hold one and there are 15 independent MPs. The opposition total of 320 excludes seven Sinn Fein MPs who, in accordance with the party’s long-standing abstentionist stance, do not take their seats. 

The government’s working majority earlier fell from four to just two after Tory MP Charlie Elphicke had the whip suspended having been charged with sexual assault. 

Johnson’s is now the first prime minister since John Major to lead a minority government. Major lead an administration with no majority from December 1996 until Labour’s general election victory in May 1997. Johnson also has the smallest constituency majority (5,034 in Uxbridge and South Ruislip) of any prime minister since Labour’s Ramsay MacDonald in 1924. 

Content from our partners
Labour's health reforms can put patients first
Data science can help developers design future-proof infrastructure
How to tackle the UK's plastic pollution problem – with Coca-Cola

Select and enter your email address Your weekly guide to the best writing on ideas, politics, books and culture every Saturday. The best way to sign up for The Saturday Read is via The New Statesman's quick and essential guide to the news and politics of the day. The best way to sign up for Morning Call is via Our Thursday ideas newsletter, delving into philosophy, criticism, and intellectual history. The best way to sign up for The Salvo is via Stay up to date with NS events, subscription offers & updates. Weekly analysis of the shift to a new economy from the New Statesman's Spotlight on Policy team.
  • Administration / Office
  • Arts and Culture
  • Board Member
  • Business / Corporate Services
  • Client / Customer Services
  • Communications
  • Construction, Works, Engineering
  • Education, Curriculum and Teaching
  • Environment, Conservation and NRM
  • Facility / Grounds Management and Maintenance
  • Finance Management
  • Health - Medical and Nursing Management
  • HR, Training and Organisational Development
  • Information and Communications Technology
  • Information Services, Statistics, Records, Archives
  • Infrastructure Management - Transport, Utilities
  • Legal Officers and Practitioners
  • Librarians and Library Management
  • Management
  • Marketing
  • OH&S, Risk Management
  • Operations Management
  • Planning, Policy, Strategy
  • Printing, Design, Publishing, Web
  • Projects, Programs and Advisors
  • Property, Assets and Fleet Management
  • Public Relations and Media
  • Purchasing and Procurement
  • Quality Management
  • Science and Technical Research and Development
  • Security and Law Enforcement
  • Service Delivery
  • Sport and Recreation
  • Travel, Accommodation, Tourism
  • Wellbeing, Community / Social Services
Visit our privacy Policy for more information about our services, how New Statesman Media Group may use, process and share your personal data, including information on your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications.