Support 100 years of independent journalism.

  1. Culture
  2. Goldsmiths Prize
20 January 2021

Kamila Shamsie and Nell Stevens to judge 2021 Goldsmiths Prize

Fred D’Aguiar and Johanna Thomas-Corr complete the panel for the £10,000 prize for “literature at its most novel”.

By Ellen Peirson-Hagger

The novelist Kamila Shamsie and the memoirist and fiction writer Nell Stevens have been announced as judges for this year’s Goldsmiths Prize, which celebrates “literature at its most novel”.

Stevens, who won the 2019 Somerset Maugham Award for Mrs Gaskell & Me and lectures at Goldsmiths, University of London, will chair the panel, comprising Shamsie as well as the poet, playwright and novelist Fred D’Aguiar, and the book critic and New Statesman contributing writer Johanna Thomas-Corr.

Shamsie, who was born in Karachi and lives in London, won the 2018 Women’s Prize for her seventh novel Home Fire, a modern-day retelling of the story of Sophocles’s play Antigone. She is co-vice-president of the council of the Royal Society of Literature. D’Aguiar, a British-Guyanese writer, is a professor of english at the University of California, Los Angeles. His works include five novels and six poetry collections, including the TS Eliot Prize-nominated Bill of Rights (1998) and Continental Shelf (2009). His most recent novel, Children of Paradise, reimagines the Jonestown massacre from the perspective of a mother and her child. Thomas-Corr is a regular book critic for the New Statesman and the Sunday Times, and lives in Bristol.

[See also: Frances Wilson on why M John Harrison won the 2020 Goldsmiths Prize]

Stevens said: “I’m excited to be judging the Goldsmiths Prize in its ninth year. Perhaps now more than ever we need novels that challenge our perception of what is possible, in fiction and in life – I can’t wait to discover them.”

Sign up for The New Statesman’s newsletters Tick the boxes of the newsletters you would like to receive. Quick and essential guide to domestic and global politics from the New Statesman's politics team. The New Statesman’s global affairs newsletter, every Monday and Friday. The best of the New Statesman, delivered to your inbox every weekday morning. A handy, three-minute glance at the week ahead in companies, markets, regulation and investment, landing in your inbox every Monday morning. Our weekly culture newsletter – from books and art to pop culture and memes – sent every Friday. A weekly round-up of some of the best articles featured in the most recent issue of the New Statesman, sent each Saturday. A weekly dig into the New Statesman’s archive of over 100 years of stellar and influential journalism, sent each Wednesday. Sign up to receive information regarding NS events, subscription offers & product updates.
I consent to New Statesman Media Group collecting my details provided via this form in accordance with the Privacy Policy

The £10,000 Goldsmiths Prize, launched in association with the New Statesman in 2013, was created to recognise fiction that “breaks the mould, opens up new possibilities for the novel form, and embodies the spirit of invention”. This year’s prize opens for submissions on 22 January, and the winner is to be revealed on 10 November 2021.

This year’s judges were announced following an online talk with M John Harrison, who won the 2020 prize for his uncanny tale of Brexit Britain, The Sunken Land Begins To Rise Again (Gollancz). Previous winners of the prize include Lucy Ellmann for Ducks, Newburyport (Galley Beggar), Ali Smith for How to be Both (Hamish Hamilton) and Eimear McBride for A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing (Galley Beggar).

Content from our partners
Why modelling matters: its role in future healthcare challenges
Helping children be safer, smarter, happier internet explorers
Power to the people