Support 100 years of independent journalism.

  1. Politics
14 January 2016updated 27 Jul 2021 7:00am

The 2015 intake are the big winners as Jeremy Corbyn adds his final reshuffle touches

Labour newcomers are the real victors in the reshuffle.

By Anoosh Chakelian

The Labour leader has been putting the finishing touches on his reshuffle. And it’s the 2015 intake of Labour MPs who are the clear winners.

Here is the latest round of appointments:

Jo Stevens MP (Cardiff Central) appointed Shadow Solictor General in the Shadow Cabinet.

Imran Hussain MP (Bradford East) appointed Shadow Minister, Department for International Development.

Kate Osamor MP (Edmonton) appointed Shadow Minister, Women and Equalities.

Sign up for The New Statesman’s newsletters Tick the boxes of the newsletters you would like to receive. Quick and essential guide to domestic and global politics from the New Statesman's politics team. The New Statesman’s global affairs newsletter, every Monday and Friday. The best of the New Statesman, delivered to your inbox every weekday morning. The New Statesman’s weekly environment email on the politics, business and culture of the climate and nature crises - in your inbox every Thursday. A handy, three-minute glance at the week ahead in companies, markets, regulation and investment, landing in your inbox every Monday morning. Our weekly culture newsletter – from books and art to pop culture and memes – sent every Friday. A weekly round-up of some of the best articles featured in the most recent issue of the New Statesman, sent each Saturday. A weekly dig into the New Statesman’s archive of over 100 years of stellar and influential journalism, sent each Wednesday. Sign up to receive information regarding NS events, subscription offers & product updates.

Thangam Debbonaire MP (Bristol West) appointed Shadow Minister, Department for Culture, Media and Sport.

Content from our partners
How automation can help telecoms companies unlock their growth potential
The pandemic has had a scarring effect on loneliness, but we can do better
Feel confident gifting tech to your children this Christmas

Dave Anderson MP (Blaydon) appointed as a Whip.

The Labour newbies, a generally more left-leaning batch than the pre-May 2015 PLP, have done well out of Jeremy Corbyn’s new frontbench line-up. Out of the list above, all but Anderson were elected in 2015. And there are plenty more on the frontbench – I can count 22, including the whips’ team.

Corbyn’s detractors would characterise this as a failure of Labour’s top team to find experienced, high-profile MPs who are willing to serve in their shadow government. But I think these appointments look positive for the Corbyn project, and for what he’s trying to achieve – a long-term shift in Labour’s politics to the left. He is giving power (or as much power as it is possible to have in this context) to those who are closest to his politics in the party; the new, leftier Labour intake is being fast-tracked to seniority.