In full: Keir Starmer’s shadow cabinet

Fresh faces from the soft left and 2015 and 2017 intakes have been rewarded in the new Labour leader's first appointments – as well as Ed Miliband.

Sign Up

Get the New Statesman\'s Morning Call email.

Keir Starmer has appointed his first shadow cabinet as Labour leader - and has opted to cast his frontbench in his own image. 

Figures from the soft left and middle of the party – most of them from the 2015 and 2017 intakes – have been rewarded, as has Ed Miliband, the Labour leader who brought Starmer into parliament in 2015.

There are also places around the shadow cabinet table for influential figures from the right of the party, namely Rachel Reeves and Bridget Philipson, as well as for Blairite veteran Charles Falconer., 

Here is Starmer's first set of shadow cabinet appointments in full:

·       Keir Starmer, Leader of the Opposition

·       Angela Rayner, Deputy Leader and Chair of the Labour Party

·       Anneliese Dodds, Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer

·       Lisa Nandy, Shadow Foreign Secretary

·       Nick Thomas-Symonds, Shadow Home Secretary

·       Rachel Reeves, Shadow Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster

·       David Lammy, Shadow Justice Secretary

·       John Healey, Shadow Defence Secretary

·       Ed Miliband, Shadow Business, Energy and Industrial Secretary

·       Emily Thornberry, Shadow International Trade Secretary

·       Jonathan Reynolds, Shadow Work and Pensions Secretary

·       Jonathan Ashworth, Shadow Secretary of State for Health and Social Care

·       Rebecca Long-Bailey, Shadow Education Secretary

·       Jo Stevens, Shadow Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

·       Bridget Philipson, Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury

·       Luke Pollard, Shadow Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Secretary

·       Steve Reed, Shadow Communities and Local Government Secretary

·       Thangam Debbonaire, Shadow Housing Secretary

·       Jim McMahon, Shadow Transport Secretary

·       Preet Kaur Gill, Shadow International Development Secretary

·       Louise Haigh, Shadow Northern Ireland Secretary (interim)

·       Ian Murray, Shadow Scotland Secretary

·       Nia Griffith, Shadow Wales Secretary

·       Marsha de Cordova, Shadow Women and Equalities Secretary

·       Andy McDonald, Shadow Employment Rights and Protections Secretary

·       Rosena Allin-Khan, Shadow Minister for Mental Health 

·       Cat Smith, Shadow Minister for Young People and Voter Engagement 

·       Charles Falconer, Shadow Attorney General

·       Valerie Vaz, Shadow Leader of the House

·       Nick Brown, Opposition Chief Whip

·       Angela Smith, Shadow Leader of the Lords

·      Tommy McAvoy, Lords’ Opposition Chief Whip

Free trial CSS