Support 100 years of independent journalism.

  1. Politics
  2. The Staggers
21 April 2017

Election 2017: Which Labour MPs are standing down?

13 Labour MPs have announced they will not fight the June 8 general election.

By New Statesman

Theresa May’s decision to call a snap election – and the grim outlook for Labour – means a number of the party’s MPs will not fight the June 8 poll. Here’s a full list. 

Dave Anderson (Shadow Scotland and Northern Ireland Secretary) – Blaydon (14,227 majority)

Tom Blenkinsop – Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland (2,268 majority)

Andy Burnham – Leigh (14,096 majority)

Jim Dowd – Lewisham West and Penge (12,714 majoirty)

Sign up for The New Statesman’s newsletters Tick the boxes of the newsletters you would like to receive. Quick and essential guide to domestic and global politics from the New Statesman's politics team. The New Statesman’s global affairs newsletter, every Monday and Friday. The best of the New Statesman, delivered to your inbox every weekday morning. A handy, three-minute glance at the week ahead in companies, markets, regulation and investment, landing in your inbox every Monday morning. Our weekly culture newsletter – from books and art to pop culture and memes – sent every Friday. A weekly round-up of some of the best articles featured in the most recent issue of the New Statesman, sent each Saturday. A weekly dig into the New Statesman’s archive of over 100 years of stellar and influential journalism, sent each Wednesday. Sign up to receive information regarding NS events, subscription offers & product updates.
I consent to New Statesman Media Group collecting my details provided via this form in accordance with the Privacy Policy

Michael Dugher – Barnsley East (12,034 majority)

Pat Glass – North West Durham (10,056 majority)

Alan Johnson – Hull West and Hessle (9,333 majority)

Fiona MacTaggart – Slough (7,336 majority)

Rob Marris – Wolverhampton South West (801 majority)

Steve Rotheram – Liverpol Walton (27,777 majority)

Andrew Smith – Oxford East (15,280 majority)

Gisela Stuart – Birmingham Edgbaston (2,706 majority)

Iain Wright – Hartlepool (3,024 majority)