New Statesman success at Orwell Prize

New Statesman bloggers pick up five nominations for the prestigious blogging prize.

Sign Up

Get the New Statesman's Morning Call email.

The New Statesman last night received five nominations in the blogging category of the prestigious Orwell Prize. Our resident New Statesman bloggers Laurie Penny, Steven Baxter and Dan Hodges were all nominated, alongside the New Statesman contributors Osama Diab and Sunder Katwala.

The longlist included 22 names in total, selected by Gaby Hinsliff and another New Statesman blogger and former Orwell Prize shortlist nominee, David Allen Green. Other nominees included Andrew Sparrow's politics blog at the Guardian, Graeme Archer from ConservativeHome and Paul Waugh's Waugh Room.