Show Hide image

APME awards announced

New York Times wins Public Service Award for 'radiation boom' investigative report series

The New York Times, the Chicago Tribune, Herald-Tribune and Herald-Courier are among the winners of awards announced by the Associated Press Managing Editors (APME) association on Wednesday.

NYT's 'radiation boom' investigative report series - which resulted in regulatory changes in the field - earned it the Public Service Award.

The Chicago Tribune and the Sarasota (Florida) Herald-Tribune shared the first Gannett Foundation Award for Digital Innovation in Watchdog Journalism, administered by the APME.

AP's coverage of the shooting at the Fort Hood military base in Texas won the award for Deadline Reporting. Its coverage of the Gulf Oil Spill and the Haiti earthquake also won several awards.

APME, an association of editors comprising AP's member newspapers in the US and those of the Canadian Press in Canada, recognizes excellence in journalism with annual awards in six categories.

The APME awards will be presented at the group's annual conference from 20-22 October at the Poynter Institute in St. Petersburg in Florida.