Digging up stories


How does GQ pick their politician of the year?

"Well known? Check. Wears suits which fit? Check. Conservative?"

Boris Johnson has been named as GQ's Politician of the Year for 2013:

That's the same Boris Johnson who was the magazine's Politician of the Year in 2012:

And in 2008:

He's not the only politician to have won the accolade multiple times. George Osborne won in 2009:

And then he won again in 2011 (when he famously called the magazine's readers "wankers"):

Between them, Boris and George have won five of the six Politician of the Year awards GQ has ever given.

But guess who the only other politician to have won is? It won't take you long:

That table of winners in full:

Year Winner Party
2008 Boris Johnson Conservatives
2009 George Osborne Conservatives
2010 David Cameron Conservatives
2011 George Osborne Conservatives
2012 Boris Johnson Conservatives
2013 Boris Johnson Conservatives