The Facebook application that offers to reveal those who are viewing the user's profile is a scam, according to a note on security research firm Sophos.
Nearly 60,000 Facebook users have reportedly tried to use the app, according to the note.
The link saying "OMG OMG OMG...I can't believe this actually works! Now you really can see who viewed your profile!" tempts the user to try out the fake app.
Clicking on the link in the message directs the users to a web page that encourages people to permit an application to access their Facebook profile and directing them to sites loaded with advertisements, media reports added.
Earlier this year, a similar scam hit the social networking site and the site asserted that it is not possible to track down the users who have visited a user's profile and that the site blocks apps that do so.