Show Hide image

Leaders Election Debates win BPG innovation award

Sky, BBC and ITV to collect awards.

The 2010 Leaders Election Debates, broadcast across the BBC, ITV and Sky, will today collect the innovation prize at the 37th annual Broadcasting Press Guild Awards.

The debates, which were broadcast on three consecutive Thursdays ahead of last May's General Election, were hailed by those who write about TV and radio for the national and trade press.

The third of the debates reached 13.3m people across BBC 1, the News Channel and the HD broadcast in the week ahead of the election.

The three debate chairmen, Adam Boulton from Sky, David Dimbleby from the BBC and ITV's Alastair Stewart will accept the award at a lunchtime ceremony at the Theatre Royal, Drury Lane where awards will also be handed out for broadcast drama and documentary programmes.

Read more at Press Gazette.