The latest on books and the arts


The Man Booker longlist

Byatt and Coetzee among some familiar names

The longlist for the Man Booker Prize 2009 has been announced, and includes two former winners, A.S Byatt and J.M Coetzee, and two previously shortlisted writers, Sarah Waters and Colm Toibin.

Here's the full list, with links to the NS review where applicable:

AS Byatt - The Children's Book (review by George Walden)
JM Coetzee - Summertime
Adam Foulds - The Quickening Maze (review by Fatema Ahmed)
Sarah Hall - How to Paint a Dead Man
Samantha Harvey - The Wilderness
James Lever - Me Cheeta
Hilary Mantel - Wolf Hall (review by Rachel Aspden)
Simon Mawer - The Glass Room
Ed O'Loughlin - Not Untrue & Not Unkind
James Scudamore - Heliopolis (review by Simon Akam)
Colm Toibin - Brooklyn (review by Benjamin Markovits)
William Trevor - Love and Summer
Sarah Waters - The Little Stranger (review-essay by John O'Connell)

The shortlist is announced on 8 September, the winner on 6 October. Our early tip? Coetzee's Summertime, which isn't out until September, but an excerpt from which was published recently in the New York Review.

Next Article